goal setting (part 5)- Never giving up on your goals!

Have you started setting your goal and making your plan? Are you already working towards achieving your goal?

Then I’m going to tell you in this part how to ‘follow through’ with your goals. Following through means that you keep going and never give up. That you follow your plan until the goal is reached. Most people struggle with that. They just give up with their goal and don’t try to finish it. It might be because they loose interest or they think it’s too hard too achieve. Sometimes I struggle to focus on my goals as well, becasue I get distracted or I’m too lazy. But there are some things you can do to keep you following through with your goal: 🙂

-There’s a quote that could help you: “Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.”

-Always remind yourself of the outcome. The outcome is the goal and the thing you want to achieve. If we take Bob’s example with the race (from Goal setting part 4), his outcome is to come first in the school race with a time of 11 minutes. If you always remind yourself of that, then it will be easier to keep going.

-Make a dream board or vision board and stick photos of your goal on it. Hang it on your wall and look at it everyday.

-Think of the things you will get once you’ve achieved your goal. All the positive things that make you want to reach the goal. Will you just be really happy and proud or will you get an actual price for achieving your goal? Whatever it is remind yourself of it everyday.

-Close your eyes and imagine you are already there, you’ve already achieved your goal. “How do you feel?” What are you doing in that moment? Are you laughing, cheering, smiling, jumping around, hugging your friends or family? Or are you doing all of those things? If you think of this every night, then you will become more determined to achieve that goal.

-Try anchoring. (It’s in one of my posts called “Anchoring”). Think of a time when you were really focused on your goal and really determined and you felt like you were moving towards your outcome really fast. Anchor that emotion and do it as often as possible.

If you even try one of these tips I just gave you, you could be achieving your goal in no time and the best thing will be: you’ll be having fun!

What do you think of these tips?  Would you use those methods or do you use other methods to keep you moving forward towards your goal?

7 thoughts on “goal setting (part 5)- Never giving up on your goals!

  1. Hello again, Kathi!

    I think your ideas are outstanding, and I can definitely tell you are very passionate about what you write. However, I do think they will need some polishing up before they get to the submission stage. Be sure to check for errors in grammar, spelling, punctuation, unnecessary words (filler words like “so”), etc. once you get that far. And always remember to have thick skin! Just trying to be helpful. 🙂

    These are great tips for teenagers (your target audience, if I remember correctly) and anyone else for that matter. I would want my son to read this advice when he gets that age.

    • Hi Stacie!
      Thank you for the long comment! 🙂 And thanks for your tips, I’ll be trying to check for grammar and spelling. I’ve found some other great tips in your blog, too!
      yes, the target audience are teenagers, and I hope many other teenagers can learn from it (I’m 14 so I’m using all of this myself). Would be great if your son likes it when he’s older 🙂 I’m sure I’m still going to be writing this blog in a few years so if he wants to check it out, sure 😀
      I’ll be checking your blog too because I can really use the tips you are giving.

      • I thought you might be a teenager yourself. I’m sure your parents are very proud of you. It wasn’t so long ago that I was a teenager too. (I’m 27 now) So ooollldddd. I know. 🙂

        Keep up the writing; write every day. Don’t let anyone discourage you. You’re doing great!

        And you’re welcome about the comment; I enjoy helping people. I’m glad you didn’t take it the wrong way.

        I’ll be following your blog, too. 😉

  2. Hi Kathi,

    I love the blog again! Great suggestions and ideas!!

    I have one other idea to add – share your goal with somebody who holds you accountable! somebody you promise what you do and what you do if you are not getting there.

    Love you

    Dad

Leave a Reply

